

## Early Journal Content on JSTOR, Free to Anyone in the World

This article is one of nearly 500,000 scholarly works digitized and made freely available to everyone in the world by JSTOR.

Known as the Early Journal Content, this set of works include research articles, news, letters, and other writings published in more than 200 of the oldest leading academic journals. The works date from the mid-seventeenth to the early twentieth centuries.

We encourage people to read and share the Early Journal Content openly and to tell others that this resource exists. People may post this content online or redistribute in any way for non-commercial purposes.

Read more about Early Journal Content at <a href="http://about.jstor.org/participate-jstor/individuals/early-journal-content">http://about.jstor.org/participate-jstor/individuals/early-journal-content</a>.

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary source objects. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Ithaka S+R and Portico. For more information about JSTOR, please contact support@jstor.org.

could be held to best advantage. The situation was carefully considered at the meeting of the committee on policy held in Washington on April 22, and it was decided that it would be desirable to meet in Baltimore. President Goodnow and the professors of the scientific departments of the Johns Hopkins University having cordially welcomed the plan, it has been definitely decided that the meeting will be held in that city. A committee consisting of Dr. L. O. Howard, the permanent secretary, Dr. W. J. Humphreys and Professor J. C. Merriam has been appointed to report on a general plan for a program that will make the meeting of the greatest possible service to the nation.

The committee on grants of the American Association has made the following appropriations:

\$300, to Mr. William Tyler Olcott, secretary, American Association of Variable Star Observers, 62 Church Street, Norwich, Connecticut, for the purchase of a telescope of 5-inch aperture.

\$250, to Professor A. E. Douglass, of the University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona, for the length of record of tree growth of the Sequoias from about 2,200 to 3,000 years.

\$500, to Professor Carl H. Eigenmann, of Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana, for the study of the fresh-water fishes of South America.

\$500, to Professor Edwin B. Frost, of Yerkes Observatory, Williams Bay, Wisconsin, for measurement and reduction of photographs of stellar spectra, already taken with the 40-inch telescope.

\$200, to Dr. R. A. Porter, of the University of Syracuse, Syracuse, New York, for explanation of the hysteresis which has been observed in the potential gradients of the calcium-cathode vacuum tube.

\$200, to Professor E. W. Sinnott, of The Connecticut Agricultural College, Storrs, Connecticut, for experiments to determine the ratio (in dry weight) between root, stem, leaf and fruit in the bean plant.

\$500, to Professor O. F. Stafford, of the University of Oregon, Eugene, Oregon, for research on the distillation of wood.

\$200, to Professor Herman L. Fairchild, University of Rochester, Rochester, New York, for the continuation and completion of his studies on the Post-Glacial continental uplift in New England and the Maritime provinces of Canada.

\$250, to Professor S. D. Townley, secretary, Seismological Society of America, Stanford University, California, for the investigation of earthquake phenomena.

## SCIENTIFIC ITEMS

WE record with regret the death of Ewald Hering, the eminent physiologist, professor at Leipzig; of Dr. Ferdinand Braun, the German physicist who shared the Nobel Prize in 1905 with Guglielmo Marconi, for work in wireless telegraphy; of H. J. Helm, chemist of the British Government Laboratory, and of G. Meslin, director of the physical laboratory of the University of Montpellier.

DIRECTOR WILLIAM WALLACE CAMP-BELL, of the Lick Observatory, Uniof California, has been elected a foreign member of the Royal Society.—The Geological Society of France has awarded to Dr. Henry Fairfield Osborn, president of the American Museum of Natural History, the Gaudry Medal, which was established by the society in the wear 1910 in honor of the distinguished French paleontologist, Albert Gaudry.-The Boston Society of Natural History has awarded the Walker Grand Honorary Prize, in the shape of a one-thousand-dollar Liberty bond, to Professor Jacques Loeb, of the Rockefeller Institute, New York, in recognition of his many published works covering a wide range of inquiry into the basic concepts of natural history.